Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Spring 2017 Volunteer Points Winners

Thank you to everyone who volunteered at our events this semester! Volunteers play a huge role in helping run our events over the semester, and we thank you all for helping out :)

As the semester is coming to a close, we would like to announce the winners of the MIT SWE Volunteer Points System that we implemented this year: 

Spring 2017 Winners for the MIT SWE Volunteer Points System

1st Place with a total of 25.5 volunteer hours
Haripriya Mehta

2nd Place with a total of 21.5 volunteer hours
Stuti Vishwabhan

3rd Place with a total of 21 volunteer hours
Nayoung Lee

Honorable Mentions
Grayson King (18 hours)
Sophia Gershon (18 hours)
Shannon Duffy (16 hours)
Celine Qiu (16 hours)
Sara Wilson (16 hours)

Congratulations to our spring semester winners!

Thursday, May 11, 2017

2017 Golden Beaver Award Recipient

We are excited to announce that our section was awarded the Golden Beaver Award at the 2017 MIT Awards Convocation! We are thankful to the MIT community for their continued support, and we hope to continue our efforts in forging relationships and providing resources to the MIT community and beyond.
"The Golden Beaver Award is presented to student organizations, living groups, dorms, or teams that show a strong organizational structure or government, that provide outstanding programming, and that have a significant impact on campus life at MIT. Recipients will have shown dedication to continually improving their group and enhancing the campus environment."

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

2017 MIT SWE Executive Team and Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the new Exec and Scholarship Winners!

2017 SWE Exec:

President - Joanna Han
VPs of Outreach - Jeanie Pearson and Jennifer McCleary
VP of Campus Relations - Jae Hyun Kim
VP of Career Development - Alisha Saxena
VP of Membership - Michele Miao
VP of Technology - Baula Xu
Administrative Officer- Nancy Hung
Financial Officer - Rebecca Grekin

Upperclassmen awards: 

1. Teresa de Figueiredo
2. Hannah Thel
3. Hannah Huynh

Freshmen awards: 

1. Kiera Gavin
2. Crystal (Xingyu) Chen
3. Carol Wu

Sunday, March 5, 2017

MIT SWE Board Goes on Retreat

To celebrate our new board and exec members, MIT SWE recently went on retreat to the historic Endicott House in Dedham, Massachusetts. It was a great opportunity to get a head start on planning out events and become more comfortable in our new roles. After dinner, everyone bonded through fun activities like crafting, Cards Against Humanity, and Taboo. It's safe to say we all left the next morning feeling refreshed and ready to take on the new term!